Julia Peterkin Literary Awards

Established in 1998 by the Creative Writing program at Converse College, the Julia Peterkin Award is a national contest honoring both emerging and established  writers. The award is named for Converse graduate Julia Mood Peterkin, whose 1929 novel,  Scarlet Sister Mary, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in literature.

The Julia Peterkin Literary Award contest is currently on hiatus until further notice.

Previous  Year’s Winners

Humankind needs larger birds by Justin Jannise (Poetry)

 The Holy Waters of the Ganges by Krista Buecler (Flash Fiction)


 Mourning Dove by Benjamin Garcia (Flash Fiction)


 What You Said by Natalie Troy (Flash Fiction)